Home > SSRS > Find the deleted reports in SSRS

Find the deleted reports in SSRS


Dear SSRS Folks,

I got a call yesterday from a friend of mine. He was asking about finding a deleted report in report server. I was able to give him answer instantly and now I would like to share the trick used to find the deleted reports.

Logically, If any action performed in the report server should get recorded in to Report Server database. But, In my case I could not find any event recorded as deleted items in the database. So, next only way to find is to check the report server log text files.

Oh god! there are too many files to scan. do I need any text file phaser? sorry, I don;t know whether any such thing is available or not. Because, I don;t have time to search for it.

Solution, Luckily each log file has data and time in the filename. Now, my problem looks simpler. I can get the date between report latest execution date and the guessing missing date.

I do just open the text file and search this string “Call to DeleteItemAction(”

Please write to me if you need more assistance.

Categories: SSRS Tags: ,
  1. mallis
    October 26, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Hi,

    i need sum of sales amount for each page, how can i do,
    i grouped row wise but not coming, and also,i taken one textbox bellow footer ,it is also not coiming
    can u tell me the way how to do

    Thanks in Advance

    Regards
    Mallis

    • October 26, 2011 at 11:35 pm

      In report footer, paste this expression in a textbox

      =Sum(ReportItems(“Table column name”).Value)

  2. Tina
    January 30, 2014 at 10:30 am

    So after I got the exact time when I deleted the report files, how do I recover the deleted files? Thank you very much

    • February 2, 2014 at 1:13 am

      Unless you have your backup it is not possible to retrieve deleted reports.

  3. Saulaja
    June 3, 2017 at 9:29 am

    Hi,please tell how can we get subscrptions scheduled on deleted report as I couldn’t able to find in subscriptions table in report server database?

    • June 5, 2017 at 11:52 am

      I don’t think of anyways unless you have any backup.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

