Home > SSIS > Execute SQL Job using SSIS

Execute SQL Job using SSIS


Dear SSIS folks,

We all know that SQL Jobs are the list of tasks to perform any action in the SQL Server using SQL Agent.

In this article, I will be explaining how to start or execute a job using a SSIS task.

Scenario:

I am an ETL Developer. My manager came to me and asked about SQL Agent and jobs. I answered him with great answer. He appreciated me and assigned a cool task. He has mentioned a few activities to be carried out regularly using SQL Jobs.  I said ok and walked to SQL developer/Administrator desk and explained my situation. They helps me by creating jobs and given me execution rights. Now, I am able to breathe fresh air :). My next task is to create a SSIS package to execute all jobs using SSIS. SSIS made my life easier.

Implementation:

Step 1: Create new package and drop “Execute SQL Server Agent Job Task” from the toolbox on the control flow layout.

Step 2: Open the task and configure the database connection by clicking new button.

Step 3: Now, Select the jobs in the list as shown in the below picture that you would like to execute.

Step 4: click ok to complete. We can also view the T-SQL for this task by clicking View T-SQL button.

Step 5: execute package to start the execution of the jobs.

Question for reader?

How do we create a job with SSIS package?

Thanks for reading this article. Your comments are the most valuable object for me.

To know more read this  http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms137858.aspx

  1. Venkat
    September 4, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    Thanks for the inforamtion. It helped me a lot. But I have a question on this…
    Is that Execute SQL Server Agent Job task will show in green color one the actual job completes or once the actual job starts?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

