Home > SSIS > XML output using XML Destination Task

XML output using XML Destination Task


XML is everywhere now. We can see every application with XML data. To know more about XML Read this.

XML Data processing

I have got a mail from a friend of mine asking about the XML implementation in SSIS. I replied him with a smiling face saying that Of course, you can implement XML data processing with SSIS very easily by mentioning XML Source task. Then, I got a very shocking reply saying that SSIS does not have XML Destination then how can I store my output in XML format? I even knew this, but, I started digging the web ocean and found a free component in our favorite website CodePlex.

I regain my confidence and sent a reply mail to him as follows.

I am agreeing with you that SSIS does not have XML Destination task. It may be there in future release of SQL Server. For now, I can give you a free tool available in the Microsoft CodePlex website. But, You should be responsible for using that tool as given in the license agreement.

XML Destination

We can download this SSIS component from this site.

I have used this component in a package to accomplish my task as given below.

Scenario: – I have a requirement to convert a flat file data to XML data. My flat file contains a list of name and age of my friends.

Implementation

Step 1: Create a new SSIS package and add Data Flow task

Step 2: Add a flat file Data flow source task and configure it

Step 3: Add XML Destination task in to the data flow and configure it. Please read theXmlDestReadme.rtf to understand about this component and usage.

  • Edit the task and Create new output file connection under XML Document tab
  • Goto Input mapping tab and select the column and rename the XML node name for the column.

Step 4: Click OK and execute package.

Package output

Thanks for reading this far. I will meet you again with another interesting article in this blog. Keep visiting and SUBSCRIBE for Email post.

Note: I have narrated a story to make the article to be interesting and please use this component at your own risk. I will not be responsible for any damage in any occasion using this component.

Tip: Do test before implementing in production environment.

Categories: SSIS Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

