Home > Tools > Graphical Interface for BCP – SQL Server Utility Software

Graphical Interface for BCP – SQL Server Utility Software


Data Export and Import tool

BCP – It is a utility software comes with Microsoft SQL Server. It is a command line tools and very helpful for data transfer between files and SQL tables. It is the simplest and fastest way to transfer data between SQL Instance or different DBMS with data files.

By default, BCP output file does not contain the file formatting or data type information. So, we have create the format file for the data we export using this utility. Other wise, we will not be able to import the data back to SQL Server table.

For more information, please refer Microsoft TechNet documentation.

GBCP – Graphical BCP – Download now

It is a simple 4 step process to Export/Import data in SQL Server. This interface will remove the pain of typing the BCP command in command prompt interface for execution.

This tool is mainly developed to provide an interface for command line BCP utility. GBCP will not replace the original BCP. Because, BCP is the core utility developed and available with SQL Server. So, Users should aware of this before downloading this graphical user interface for BCP.  GBCP executes the currently mapped version of BCP utility in the user’s computer. Because, we may have multiple versions of BCP utility in a machine if we installed multiple versions of Microsoft SQL Server.

GBCP interface does cover only the basic options available in BCP utility. In the future release, GBCP will have all options to help users to use this interface extensively.

Demonstration

User Interface of GBCP utility

pic1

1. SQL Connection

  • Fill SQL Server connection information and connect to server

2. Select the BCP option

  • in (Import data in to a table)
  • out (Export data to a file)
  • queryout (SQL Query data export to a file)
  • format (Create Format File)

3. Select database objects

  • This is an editable object selection text box. We can select the existing table or view for export or give a table name for import.

4. BCP operation setup box for each BCP option

  • This setup box will show all necessary options and file location text box to create output file, format file and etc.

BCP Generic Option

These are the BCP options used internally by BCP. We can specify the new value to override the default value while executing the BCP command.

BCP Command

This is a multiline text box that will have the full BCP command that is executed. It is given to user for reference.

Error File

Error file will be created for each execution. It will have the error messages if any while transferring data using BCP utility.

This GBCP interface is tested by single user. So, if you catch any errors please do not hesitate to send in to me. It will help the utility to be more robust.

Download GBCP

(This file name is given as GBCP.pdf. But, you have to rename it to GBCP.exe after download)

Please write few lines about this utility in the comment section. Your new ideas are most welcome. Thanks.

Categories: Tools Tags: , ,
  1. September 13, 2017 at 10:01 am

    Can’t download

  2. September 13, 2017 at 10:02 am

    Got another download location?

  3. September 13, 2017 at 10:14 am

    Never mind, i’m stupid, lol

  4. macrobody
    September 18, 2017 at 2:15 am

    Thanks a lot. I came a long way but it won’t work. I suspect it has to do with the fact that I am working on a 64-bit Windows 10 computer. Maybe the old software is not compatible.
    To me it is very confusing because of the many products from Microsoft, SSMS, SSDT, SSIS etc. I have a Visual Studio Community version that is started from this location: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE and I have a Visual Studio SQL version that is started from this location: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\SQL\Common7\IDE
    So for this example I used the latter.
    – I created the OLE DB connection, see screenshot: https://imgur.com/p9cQw76
    – Provided the location of the DBF files: https://imgur.com/3pQN5Ej
    – Tested the connection which was succesful: https://imgur.com/zg5hmel
    – Created a Data Flow Task: https://imgur.com/pPGp6FO
    – Added the OLE DB Source: https://imgur.com/JvFjmaX
    – Selected a DBF file and got an error: https://imgur.com/1OpfrtM

    I also tried the DBFviewer but it crashed with an error. Also tried convert to CSV produced an empty file.
    The error is a long one, I will paste it in the end. Just FYI so you know it is no solution anymore 🙂

    I have a new way of transferring the data. I open the DBF file in OpenOffice Calc, delete the header, save the file as a CSV file after editing the filter settings which I set to Field delimiter: | and Text delimiter ~ as I found that my tables don’t contain these characters.

    Then I use a program DBF Converter but because it’s shareware I only use it to create file structure. This is good enough for me because once I want to move the live data I already have the whole structure in place. The only thing I have to do then is convert all DBF files to a CSV file (which I think is possible to do with a batch file and a command line like soffice -convert-to, but still working on how to do this otherwise it will just be a manual job).
    Once I have the CSV files I use my BULK INSERT sql query to insert all data in my tables.

    I use a query like this:

    BULK INSERT adres
    FROM ‘F:\RGCC\Data\persoon.csv’
    WITH
    (
    FIELDTERMINATOR = ‘\’, –CSV field delimiter
    ROWTERMINATOR = ‘\n’, –Use to shift the control to next row
    TABLOCK
    )

    If there are errors I need to find other field delimiters, but I can prepare everything until transfer day. I maybe would have bought a license for that DBF converter program but it claims that it can do batch by selecting the folder but it crashes when I do that so I’m not going to spend money on it.

    That’s it from me. Cheers.

    • September 18, 2017 at 1:56 pm

      Sorry for my utility software. It looks like you got a solution. Hope everything go well.

  5. macrobody
    September 18, 2017 at 2:19 am

    I see one mistake with the BULK insert query, It should be like this of course:

    BULK INSERT persoon
    FROM ‘F:\RGCC\Data\persoon.csv’

  1. April 27, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Leave a Reply

